2011 CSA: Week 1

I apologize now for the lack of photos, I didn’t know I was going to start blogging until after I did all this stuff I’m writing about 🙂 Next time, I’ll take the photos. Maybe.

Because I really like vegetables, but don’t much like getting up early on Saturday mornings to get to the farmer’s market before the good stuff is gone, I joined a CSA this year. My current pick-up is Tuesday evenings a few blocks from my office, though I might see about shifting to Thursday evening so my veggies are fresher on the weekend when I tend to have more time to cook.

This week was the first pick-up and here’s what was in my share: pak choi, mustard greens, swiss chard, arugula, mizuna, garlic scapes, fennel, and a zinnia in a 4″ pot. I didn’t pick up any mizuna because all of it was very limp and rather bug-eaten, but I got some of everything else. Even the arugula and I don’t much like arugula.

Then I took it all home in the handy-dandy tote bag and stuff everything in the fridge to deal with later.

Leave a Reply

