New food: Garlic Scapes

This week’s share included 5 garlic scapes. I’d seen scapes at the famer’s market, but I always thought they were a bit too expensive for something that looked like a cross between a scallion and a chive bud. So when they showed up in my share this week, I had no idea what to do with them.

Genehack directed me to a Washington Post article about garlic scapes, complete with a recipe for garlic scape pesto.

After a quick shopping trip for walnuts, I got out my trusty stick blender and its food processing attachment and set to making pesto.

I had 5 scapes instead of 9, so I improvised a little.

  1. After tasting one and comparing it to a taste of stem, I decided to cut up the flowers with the stems.
  2. I had a 1/2 cup bag of walnut chips and used about half of that.
  3. I put the chopped up scapes and the walnut chips in the itty food processor and whirred it until it was mixed up.
  4. I poured 3/4 of a cup of extra-virgin olive oil, and added it in little bits between whirrings. I used about 1/2 a cup.
  5. I dumped the slightly runny mixture into a storage container.
  6. I grated a bunch of parmesan with my fine microplane and stirred it to the goo until I liked the consistency of the goo
  7. As an afterthought, I added some salt and black pepper.
  8. After a quick taste, I put the storage container in the fridge to eat some other day.

Later this week, I’ll put this on some whole wheat pasta.

Leave a Reply

